keeping up with the joneses

lupe fiasco…don’t forget’em interview

It’s actually a pretty long interview but i know you all dig lupe sort of like i dig lupe…so it’s interesting. really it’s mainly him talking about how he felt like he lost his passion (obviously, talking retirement and all) and recently got it back when going through his old mixtape catalogue. he feels like his old shit is still completely relevant and fresh today (which i would mostly agree with).

…it’s like, ‘yo, I was doing that back then?’ That record is almost 6 years old. And it’s still fresh, it still has meaning, and I forgot some of the lyrics so I’m like, ‘that metaphor was kind of crazy.’ It was just like, ‘am I doing that right now? Have I maintained that?…Why would I stray away and not come as hard on every record like I was doing before? That was real. Yeah, I’m gonna go back. I’m gonna go back into the studio and try to beat myself, try to take myself back to where I was.’

Lupe Fiasco: Don’t Forget’em (Ruby Hornet interview)

peace, and remember to smile, love.

Leave a Reply

