keeping up with the joneses

lupe fiasco…solar midnite

new lupe!!
Lupe Fiasco – Solar Midnite|iTunes

Solar Midnite is my first commercial release that I actually produced as well as wrote. The New Moon team asked me if I could do a song specifically for the film. They invited me to an early screening of the unfinished film from which I pulled different elements that I thought would translate into a great song. I pulled in vocalist and bassist Graham Burris and acclaimed musician Matt Nelson to help fill it out my vision musically and “joila” Solar Midnite was born. The song basically deals with the chaotic love story that takes place between the characters. It’s more on the rock side of my musical catalog and comes straight from my die hard fanhood of Red Hot Chili Peppers and Anthony Keidis, one of my FAVORITE RAPPERS.

it’s from the New Moon soundtrack.
pretty dope. it sounds to me like his two projects (Lupe Fiasco and Japanese Cartoon) coming together into one. featuring the side of him that loves electric distorted guitar, heavy, distorted vocals, rock drums with rapping and catchy choruses. it’ll be interesting to see how this is received by the general population who loves lupe for his previous releases; superstar, daydream, and shining down. no word on whether or not this will be on Lasers or not. it’s a far stray from the first single Shining Down though.

peace, and solar love.

Leave a Reply

